© 2019 Dar Meso

THE HOUSE

A bit of history :

The house was built between 1887 and 1908 by a Frenchman, named Alain Fournials a native from Abresle, who gave this name to the property. M. Fournials, fascinated by the oriental gardens, tried to reproduce in his garden an oriental orchard. He planted three grenadiers coming from Gabes, an olive tree, a fruitful palm tree, a loquat tree and other lush southern plants still present after more than 100 years.

Mr. Fournials died in 1927 and the house was ceded to the religious association Louise de Marillac whose vocation was the accompaniment of the elderly. The charity constructed a chapel which sheltered a Roman altar until 1971 before it was offered to the church of Tunis.

In 1951, the association of Louise de Marillac decided to leave Tunisia and the property was ceded to the « petites sœurs de jesus » of Charles de Foucault. The convent was then dedicated to the contemplation and community life. 11 sisters lived there autonomously thanks to fruits and vegetables they grew themselves in the garden.

In 1970 the number of sisters dropped down to 4 because of numerous deaths. They decided to do as did their  spiritual leader  De Foucault in his living and left the city to live in the desert of El Faouar, a hermitage with a contemplative vocation. They were succeeded in the convent by the Sisters of St. Joseph of the Apparition whose task was to organize a tutoring for the benefit of the younglings in the surroundings. Nowadays, School support classes for neighborhood children are still given free of charge in the library right next to the residence.

The residence comprises  :

  • 2 kitchens : one in the ground floor with direct access to the garden and one in the first level, closer and easier to access to residents.

  • 2 bathrooms and 1 water closet

  • 6 rooms with different atmospheres and decorations : Berber style, vegetal decoration, Tunisian style and also 30’s …

  • A chapel revamped into a workshop

  • An office/workshop in the first level

  • Three shared spaces : oriental living room in the first level, Tunisian living room in the gound level and a reading space

The garden, with its banana tree, hundred year old pomegranate trees and numerous fruit trees, offers peace and quiet in the heart of the downtown. You can also seek for lonesomeness on the flat roof overlooking the entire medina.

Dar Meso offers each artist a room with storage space and a personal workspace. Artists will have a co-working space within the chapel.
The workshop is equipped with the basic tools for handiwork as well as other special tools...

US

We are a belgo-tunisian couple in their thirties :

Youssef Ettourjoumene :

Energy engineer from Tunis, I worked for 10 years on a purely technical aspect in the field of energy and currently facilitator and advisor in networking. I love to tinker, garden and live on simple things and am especially fond of arts and music in particular. i like cultural exchanges and debates and am born to serve others. this residency is two dreams come true in a single project, supporting the artists to enjoy the fruits of their creation.
 

Florence Vieira:
Originally from the south of Brussels and a graduate in cinematographic techniques. I discovered Tunisia in 2010 while working as a production and director assistant on a documentary. Since then I have multiplied experiences in this country and elsewhere; journalism, communication and direction advisor. I am currently working on writing a fiction movie. I am passionate about art in general, travel and DIY. Since I was a teenager, I dreamt of a project that would combine simple life, art and community life. I finally decided to launch this project in Tunisia to become a pioneer in the country's cultural life development and to create bridges between European, African and Arab cultures.

Our mission :

Our core purpose is to promote artists whether professional or fledgling by offering them a change in scenery boosting inspiration, spaces for production and cultural merging experiences.

The artist will be autonomus in his creation, Dar MESO will provide tenants with an environment that offers tranquility, change and contemplation to foster innovation, an array of work spaces (shared and isolated) to enable creation, and a return to nature within a rustic and talkative surroundings in the very heart of the city.

We work in collaboration with the Belgian association "Indignatus Production ASBL" which helps the artists to develop and give life to their projects.

© 2019 Dar Meso

La maison

Un peu d'histoire :

La maison a été construite entre 1887 et 1908 par un français, nommé Alain Fournials et originaire de Abresle, qui donna ce nom à la propriété. M. Fournials, fasciné par les jardins secrets d’Orient, il essaya de reproduire dans son jardin un verger à l’oriental. Il y planta 3 grenadiers de Gabes, un olivier, un néflier, un palmier et d’autres plantes luxuriantes du sud toujours présentes après plus 100 ans.

M. Fournials décéda en 1927 et la maison fut cédée à l’association religieuse Louise de Marillac dont la vocation était l’accompagnement de personnes âgées. Louise de Marillac ajouta à la maison une chapelle qui abritait un autel romain jusqu’en 1971 avant qu’il ne soit remis à l’église de Tunis.

En 1951, l’association de Louise de Marillac décida de quitter la Tunisie et la propriété fut cédée aux petites sœurs de Charles de Foucault. Le couvent fut alors dédié à la vie contemplative et communautaire. 11 sœurs y vécurent en autonomie grâce aux fruits et légumes issus du verger.

En 1970 le nombre de sœurs a été réduit à 4 en raison de nombreux décès. Elles décidèrent de faire comme leur Maitre de Foucault et partirent dans le désert, destination : El Faouar, un ermitage à vocation contemplative. Elles furent succédées dans le couvent par les sœurs de Saint-Joseph de l’apparition dont la tâche fut d’organiser un soutien scolaire au profit des élèves de primaires et secondaires. Des cours de soutien scolaire destinés aux des enfants du quartier sont toujours organisés gratuitement au sein de la bibliothèque accolée à la résidence.

La résidence comporte :

  • 2 cuisines ; une au rez-de-chaussée et ouverte sur le jardin et l'autre à l'étage, plus accessible aux résidents.

  • 3 salles d’eau

  • 6 chambres aux atmosphères différentes : style berbère, végétal, tunisien ou encore année 30

  • Une chapelle transformée en atelier

  • Un bureau/atelier a l’étage

  • 3 espaces communs : Salon oriental a l’étage, Salon Tunisien au rez-de-chaussée et un espace de lecture

Le jardin,avec son bananier, ses grenadiers centenaires et ses nombreux arbres fruitiers,offre un havre de paix au cœur de la capitale. Vous pourrez également vous isoler sur le toit plat qui donne une vue sur toute la médina.

Dar Meso met à disposition de chaque artiste une chambre avec des rangements et un espace de travail personnel ainsi qu’un espace de co-working au sein de l’atelier.

L’atelier est muni d’outils de base pour bricoler ainsi que d’outils spécifiques adaptés si besoin est…

Nous

 

Nous sommes un couple de trentenaires Belgo- Tunisien

Youssef Ettourjoumene :

Ingénieur en énergie originaire de Tunis, j' ai travaille pendant 10 ans sur un volet purement technique dans le domaine des énergies et actuellement facilitateur et conseiller en networking. J'aime bricoler, jardiner et vivre de choses simples et suis surtout fervent admirateur d'arts en général et de musique particulièrement. j'aime les échanges culturels et les débats et suis né pour être aux services des autres. cette résidence est la concrétisation de deux rêves en un seul projet, soutenir les artistes pour déguster les fruits de leur imagination après.

Florence Vieira :

Originaire du sud de Bruxelles et diplômée en techniques cinématographiques. J'ai découvert la Tunisie en 2010 alors que je travaillais comme assistante de production et réalisation sur un documentaire. Depuis j'ai multiplié les expériences dans ce pays et ailleurs ; journalisme, responsable de la communication et réalisation. Je travaille actuellement sur l'écriture d'un long-métrage de fiction. Je suis passionnée d'art en général, de voyage et de bricolage. Depuis mon adolescence je rêve d'un tel projet qui allierait simplicité, art et vie en communauté. J'ai finalement décidé de concrétiser ce projet en Tunisie afin de participer au développement de la vie culturelle du pays et de créer des ponts entre les cultures européennes, africaines et arabes.

Notre mission :

Notre mission est de promouvoir des artistes confirmés ou émergents en leur offrant un espace d’inspiration, de dépaysement, de production et d’échange culturel. L’artiste est autonome dans son travail, il vient chercher au sein de la Dar Meso un lieu de tranquillité et de changement afin de booster son travail et favoriser son innovation. Dar Meso lui offre des espaces de travail dans un environnement naturel, rustique et vivant au cœur de la ville. 

Nous travaillons en collaboration avec l'association Belge "Indignatus Production ASBL" qui aide les artistes à développer et donner vie a leurs projets.